points to another satisfied reader of A Naked Singularity:" />

The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay by Elena Ferrante September 16, 2014
    Few novelists have captured the rhythms and flow of life with the veracity of Elena Ferrante in her Neapolitan Novels. Following the friendship between Elena Greco and Lila Cerullo from childhood to old age, the tetralogy spans fifty years; over the course of that time, no emotion is too small, too dark, too banal to be recorded. No expense, so to speak, is […]
  • Trieste by Daša Drndić September 15, 2014
    As Drndić reiterates throughout the novel, “Behind every name there is a story.” And Haya Tedeschi’s story is draped in death. Born to a Jewish family that converted to Catholicism and tacitly supported the Fascists in Italy, Haya was a bystander to the Holocaust. She attended movies while Jews and partisans were transported to concentration camps; she pored […]
  • The Tree With No Name by Drago Jančar September 15, 2014
    At the opening of chapter 87—the first chapter found in The Tree with No Name—Janez Lipnik finds himself up a tree, shoeless, and lost in the Slovenian countryside. He makes his way to a house where he is taken in by a woman teacher who is waiting for her lover, a soldier. It becomes clear we are at the height of World War II. Soon after, we follow Lipnik […]
  • Kjell Askildsen, Selected Stories September 15, 2014
    Here, at the midpoint of his narrative, Bernhard, the affectless and purposeless protagonist of "The Unseen," experiences existential near-emancipation at dusk. This retreat toward obscurity in terse, direct language—thematic and stylistic markers of each work in the collection—comes immediately after Bernhard’s sister mentions her plans to enterta […]
  • Berlin Now by Peter Schneider September 15, 2014
    In his new book of essays, Berlin Now, Peter Schneider reveals himself as a gnarled Cold Warrior who has been stricken with many of the maladies common to his generation. With the specter of Communism exorcized, his new enemy is Islam. The book is a collection of short interlocking pieces introducing Anglophone readers to Berlin; it is not being published in […]
  • Paris by Marcos Giralt Torrente September 15, 2014
    In 1999, Marcos Giralt Torrente’s debut novel, Paris, was awarded the XVII Premio Herralde de Novela prize. Despite his success, it took fourteen years for Giralt’s work to appear in English, with the story collection The End of Love arriving in 2013. Now, this year sees the publication of two more books by Giralt: Paris, translated by Margaret Jull Costa, a […]
  • 10:04 by Ben Lerner September 15, 2014
    “It seemed that the [New Yorker] story—which was in part the result of my dealing with the reception of my novel—had been much more widely received than the novel itself,” says the narrator of Ben Lerner’s second novel, 10:04. Perhaps this narrator is Lerner himself—at one point he describes 10:04, within its own pages, as “neither fiction nor nonfiction but […]
  • Theories of Forgetting by Lance Olsen September 15, 2014
    Lance Olsen’s Theories of Forgetting is a masterful work structured around Robert Smithson’s earthwork “The Spiral Jetty.” Olsen’s novel is comprised of three narrations, written each by a separate member of a family. The husband’s and wife’s texts progress in opposite directions across the book, with each page divided among these two inverted texts; though […]
  • An Interview with Lance Olsen September 15, 2014
    The most substantial may be that innovative fiction knows what it is, that someone like me could define it in any productive way, that innovative fiction might somehow be one thing, or somehow consistent through time and space. None of these is the case. That’s exactly what I find most exciting about writing it, reading it, thinking about it. Innovative fict […]
  • The Ants by Sawako Nakayasu September 15, 2014
    In The Ants, we receive a study of existence through ants. That is, there are ants everywhere, ants substituted in every segment of the landscape, yet their behavior seems to reveal something altogether human. Too human. The ants are crushed and disappointed. They are warm and many. They are involved in gang wars and live inside carrot cake. The unique quali […]

A Naked Singularity Returns

At The Constant Conversation, Scott Bryan Wilson points to another satisfied reader of A Naked Singularity:

A more important question, though: how did the publishing industry fail this book? Someone should be paying Sergio De La Pava for the right to publish him; that work of this caliber is being published by a vanity press is depressing. The publishing industry prides itself on being a filter saving us from the mounds of garbage that are annually written; but honestly, this book could advantageously be pitted against almost any novel published in the past ten years by the big houses – especially the endless raft of New York novels. This is a book that deserves to be read more widely; in a better world, people would be reading this rather than Freedom.

By way of backstory, a couple of months ago we ran Scott’s rave for A Naked Singularity in The Quarterly Conversation, one of the first and only raves this book has received. (Though, Steve Donoghue’s rave in Open Letters Monthly is a notable exception.) Said book is a 700-page self-published novel published in 2008, and more and more people are saying whichever editors passed on this book really missed the boat.

Not to make too great of claims for a book I’ve never read, but lots of books that are now considered classic and even canonical were self-published in their day, some not really receiving due recognition (or the imprimatur of a publishing house) for a decade or more. I don’t know if that’s the case with Naked Singularity, but it certainly is a book that has inspired a lot of readers that I know and trust. At the very least, it’s exciting to watch something like this catch hold via these back-road Internet channels.

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. Recently Published: A Naked Singularity by Sergio de la Pava A couple weeks ago I got a query from the publisher of A Naked Singularity, who appears to be the wife of the book's...
  2. The Blurb Returns With increasing amusement I've been watching my diss of Nicole Krauss's blurb wind its way through the Internet, now landing at Laura Miller's Salon.com books...
  3. The Self-Published Book You Must Read At The Quarterly Conversation we've just published Scott Bryan Wilson's review of A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava. This is a bit atypical...
  4. The Singularity Sue Lange is getting tired of The Singularity. Sort of. The funny thing about The Singularity, to me, is that its definition seems to have...
  5. Arundhati Roy returns to fiction As a confirmed fan of The God of Small Things, this is big news to me. Arundhati Roy is to return to fiction writing, 10...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

8 comments to A Naked Singularity Returns

  • Neil Griffin

    Could be an interesting book club selection…..

  • Monica Rogich

    I read it and was very impressed. It’s intelligent, laugh-out loud funny, suspenseful, insightful… I can’t say enough about it. It’s impossible to explain in a couple of lines. It’s a long book, but defintely time-well spent. I’m really hoping that they turn it into a movie one day. It would be phenomenal!

  • Scott Bryan Wilson

    Scott–here’s another that was sent to my attention: http://emmettstinson.blogspot.com/2010/11/book-review-naked-singularity.html

  • Stephen

    I’ve only read about two hundred pages so far; and my impression is that it’s a sure game changer, in the sense that it should put the US back on the map of international literature. After a brief hiatus, I guess. I mean it’s all relative and it wasn’t so long ago that Underworld and Gravity’s Rainbow were published. Just to say it’s a really great book and I am wondering how it’ll compare with the other more expansive reads I hope to get to soon, like Zone and the Kindly Ones. I hope there’s a few, if not darker, laughs there.

  • Neil Griffin

    How has no indie press picked this up yet?

  • Stan Scott

    I read Singularity a few weeks ago, and I’d recommend it to anyone. The author has true storytelling skills, and a real sense of humor. Even if you don’t consider it a great book (I thought it was very, very good), why a conventional publishing house didn’t pick this up is beyond me.

  • tom

    How long will it take before this novel imposes itself as the next group read? So unusual from the professional end (agents and publishing) and such a landslide approbation on the other!

  • [...] The Quarterly Conversation’s Scott Bryan Wilson gave it a big, big rave. And after that, more and more people came out in this book’s favor. And in fact, lots of you have already bought and read this [...]

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>