The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • Nostalgia June 15, 2014
    Few habits are as prone to affliction, or as vulnerable to an ordeal, as the bent of a peddler’s consciousness. Placeless, the peddler completes an untold number of transactions; there are ideas to conduct (through language, which can transact a mind) and feelings to certify (through tasks, repeated interminably). […]
  • Why Literary Periods Mattered by Ted Underwood June 15, 2014
    There are some writers who are, and likely always will be, inextricably linked to the “period” with which their work is associated, and in many cases helped to define. Surely Wordsworth and Keats will always be “Romantic” poets, while Faulkner and Woolf will remain modernists, as the term “modern” has been fully appropriated to describe the historical era be […]
  • Trans-Atlantyk by Witold Gombrowicz June 15, 2014
    August 1939. You sail to Buenos Aires on the Chombry as a cultural ambassador of Poland. Why say no to a little holiday on the government’s tab? Soon after arriving you sense that something isn’t right. You emerge from a welcome reception and your ears are “filled with newspaper cries: ‘Polonia, Polonia,’ most irksome indeed.” Before you’ve even had a chance […]
  • Accepting the Disaster by Joshua Mehigan June 15, 2014
    The first collections of most young poets, even the better ones, carry with them a hint of bravado. Flush with recognition, vindicated by the encouraging attentions of at least one editor and three blurbists, the poet strikes a triumphant pose and high-fives the Muse: “We did it, baby.” When Joshua Mehigan published his impressive first collection, The Optim […]
  • The Histories of Herodotus, translated by Tom Holland June 15, 2014
    Two of the greatest of Tom Holland's predecessors in translating Herodotus are Victorian scholar George Rawlinson and Aubrey de Selincourt; the former translated Herodotus in 1860, making an enormous hit (despite the fact that its detractors often referred to it as “dull and prolix"), while the latter's 1954 Herodotus was another enormous hit, […]
  • Bullfight by Yasushi Inoue June 15, 2014
    The premise of Yasushi Inoue's debut novella Bullfight, celebrated in Japan as a classic of postwar literature, is unassuming enough: an evening newspaper sponsors a tournament of the regional sport of bull-sumo. As practical and financial issues arise, the paper's young editor-in-chief, Tsugami, soon realizes he has taken on more than he can handl […]
  • Sworn Virgin by Elvira Dones June 15, 2014
    Sworn Virgin was made to be translated. Elvira Dones wrote this book not in her native language of Albanian but in Italian—a necessarily fraught and complicated decision. In an Italian-language interview with Pierre Lepori, Dones speaks about her choice of language: “Sworn Virgin was born in Italian . . . I’ve lived using Italian for nineteen years, it has s […]
  • On the Letters of David Markson June 15, 2014
    Knowing these narrators and how their lives paralleled David’s own, it’s difficult to deny his being a recluse. I certainly held that image of him, and nursed it, secretly cherishing it because it meant I was one of the few people with whom he corresponded, and with whom he would occasionally meet. Arranging our first meetings in person was something of a ni […]
  • Storm Still by Peter Handke June 15, 2014
    Storm Still (Immer Noch Sturm) does not necessarily represent new terrain for Handke. Originally published by Suhrkamp Verlag in 2010 and now available for English-language readers thanks to Martin Chalmers’ fluent translation, the play chronicles the dissolution of the Svinec family, a family of Carinthian Slovenes—a quasi-fictionalized version of Handke’s […]
  • Red or Dead by David Peace June 15, 2014
    David Peace's novel Red or Dead is about British football, but it partakes in the traits of Homer's epic. This is a novel about the place of myth and heroes in modern society, about how the cyclical rhythms of athletic seasons reflect the cyclical patterns of life. It is a book about honor and fate, and one which bridges the profound, dreamlike ter […]

Books!

So, what'd you get today, and what'd you give to your book-loving friends?

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. Books As Gifts Joe Queenan’s point seems to be "don’t give me any books, I’ve already selected every last one of the 2,138 I have left to read...
  2. Christmas Books Sure to be a popular post-Christmas meme: What books did you give and receive for Christmas? ReceiveTruman Capote–In Cold Blood GiveW.G. Sebald–The EmigrantsHaruki Murakami–Norweigan WoodAlice...
  3. Sandpaper Books and More Rain Taxi has a very intereting interview with experimental author Steve McCaffery. If you’re at all interested in where fiction is headed, check it out....
  4. Top 10 Books of 2004: #4 #4 — The Octopus — Frank Norris I’ve been on a run of long novels lately, and The Octopus may very well deserve credit for...
  5. The GI Joe Books Lesser brands might attempt to evolve with the times, but apparently GI Joe is still working that fine '80s rhetoric: A political analysis of the...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

10 comments to Books!

  • Books I gave to Robert:
    Jung’s The Red Book (amazing!)
    The Tanners by Robert Walser
    Bolano’s The Skating Rink
    Kurt Schwitters’ Lucky Hans and Other Merz Tales
    others gave to us:
    Manahatta
    The New York Times’ Front Pages, 1851-2009
    The Intent On by Ken Irby

  • Drew

    Gift Card which will be used directly for the new Coetzee.
    Gave Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson to a relative.

  • Matt

    My fiancee is amazing, heres my haul:
    Pornografia-Witold Gombrowicz
    Last Evenings on Earth-Roberto Bolano
    By Night In Chile-Roberto Bolano
    The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo-Stieg Larsson
    The Killer Inside Me-Jim Thompson
    Butcher’s Crossing-John Williams
    Remainder-Tom McCarthy
    Pale Fire-Vladimir Nabokov
    The Adventures and Misadventures of Maqroll-Alvaro Mutis
    Await Your Reply-Dan Chaon
    Ice-Vladimir Sorokin
    Plus an Amazon gift certificate to pick up some more!

  • Ryan

    I got -
    The Making of Americans – Stein
    By Night in Chile – Bolano
    The Magic Mountain – Mann
    Three Novellas – Bernhard
    Collected poems of Ashbery and Plath
    them – JCO
    The Golden Bowl – James
    The Anxiety of Influence – Bloom

  • Harold Brodkey’s The Runaway Soul, Everyman editions of Gustave Flaubert’s Madame Bovary, Henry David Thoreau’s Walden and Katherine Mansfield’s The Garden Party and Other Stories, Fergus Henderson’s (one of my favourite chefs) Nose to Tail Eating and W. G. Hoskins’s The Making of The English Landscape.

  • They gave me Vicente Luis Mora’s Tiempo and Jorge Luis Borges’ El Libro de Arena (I’m not convinced enough by the edition of his Obras Completas, and they are giving each Borges book that I don’t own and even I’ve read all more than twice, I MUST have all that books in my library). In Spain we also give lots of presents at January 6th, the Three Kings Day, so we’ll see.

  • Oh, and the book I buy was Where the wild things are by Maurice Sendak, a little masterpiece that now, with the movie around there, has a beautiful edition without movie tie-ins luckily.

  • Charlotte

    I almost forgot: I also gave Robert The Salt Smugglers by Gerard de Nerval, beautifully translated by Richard Sieburth.

  • I gave two collections of poetry by Raul Zurita. I will get to pick out my Xmas gift at the Strand next week while visiting NYC.

  • Paul

    Gave: Rambaud’s History of Russia from the Earliest Times to 1877.
    Received: The Paris Review Interviews, Vol. I-IV (box set).
    Vocational Christmas Reading: Maps In Those Days: Cartographic Methods Before 1850.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>