The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • [[there.]] by Lance Olsen December 15, 2014
    Lance Olsen is the author of two recent works, [[there.]] and Theories of Forgetting (FC2). The second presents three narratives in a clearly fictional mode while the first offers day-to-day thoughts on living in another country. We rightly suspect that any artist’s memoir or diary ought to be viewed as written with a prospective public in mind, no matter ho […]
  • Noir and Nihilism in True Detective December 15, 2014
    "It’s just one story. The oldest. . . . Light versus dark." Spanning 8 episodes between January and March of 2014, HBO’s runaway hit True Detective challenged the status quo of contemporary crime drama. The show has been widely celebrated for its philosophy, complexity, and visual aesthetic. Co-starring actors Matthew McConaughey as Rustin "Ru […]
  • The Colonel’s World December 15, 2014
    Mahmoud Dowlatabadi (born 1940) is considered by many the living Iranian novelist, a perennial Nobel Prize candidate. Dowlatabadi wrote The Colonel some thirty years ago, because in his own words he had been “afflicted.” The subject forced him to sit at the desk and write nonstop for two years. “Writing The Colonel I felt a strong sense of indignation and pa […]
  • Mr Gwyn and Three Times at Dawn by Alessandro Baricco December 15, 2014
    Alessandro Baricco’s well-crafted, elegant prose seems as though it should create the impression of distance, or of abstraction; instead, the reader of Mr. Gwyn and Three Times at Dawn becomes wholly implicated and immersed, drawn into a dreamy and idiosyncratic world that blurs the division between reader, character and writer. As readers, we expect that th […]
  • The Walls of Delhi by Uday Prakash December 15, 2014
    "The paan shop leads to the opening of a tunnel, full of the creatures of the city, and the tears and spit of a fakir." In a single opening line, Uday Prakash sets the scene for the politically incisive, yet intimately human stories of The Walls of Delhi (translated brilliantly from the Hindi by Jason Grunebaum). Lest the fakir suggest otherwise, t […]
  • The Man Between: Michael Henry Heim and a Life in Translation December 15, 2014
    In a speech reprinted in the book, Heim makes a self-deprecating joke about whether the life of a translator is worth reading: “What does a translator do? He sits and translates!” The Man Between serves as a book-length retort by laying bare all the things Heim did: these include persuading the academy that translation is a scholarly (in addition to a creati […]
  • The Prabda Yoon Interview December 15, 2014
    Yes, I think people are not comfortable anymore to write in this straightforward, traditional way, especially the younger, more progressive writers. So it’s interesting—you have social commentary, and you also get a little bit of structural experiment. You have themes that are very, very Thai. I’m actually very interested to see what new writers will come up […]
  • The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck December 15, 2014
    For Jenny Erpenbeck, no life is lived in an indisputable straight line. Which is why, in her new novel (new in English, though published in 2012 as Aller Tage Abend) she approaches the narrative as a series of potential emotional earthquakes, some which take place, some which might have taken place, all of which reveal something of how political turbulence p […]
  • In the Heart of the Heart of the Country by William H. Gass December 15, 2014
    Once, at a writers symposium, William Howard Gass remarked that to substitute the page for the world is a form of revenge for the recognition that "you are, in terms of the so-called world, an impotent nobody." There is inarguably no contemporary writer of American stock in whose work one might locate a more ambitious war of attrition between innov […]
  • Faces in the Crowd by Valeria Luiselli December 15, 2014
    Luiselli’s first novel, Faces in the Crowd, translated into fluid English by Christina MacSweeney, is the perfect illustration of this attitude toward fiction writing. Narrated in short sections spanning multiple storylines and the better part of one hundred years, it uses "[d]eep excavations" to expose the empty spaces in two lives, those of a you […]

Editor of Harper's Out

The NYT offers competing information as to whether Harper’s editor Rodger Hodge stepped down or was dismissed, but either way he’s been replaced by managing editor Ellen Rosenbush.

This information piqued my interest since I’ve perceived a decline in quality at Harper’s since longtime editor Lewis Lapham quit in 2006. I’ve been a subscriber for a while now (it’s hard not to when they practically give it away and let you have access to 100+ years of archives with a subscription), and there just haven’t been that many stories that have a) grabbed me; or b) felt like they were really that essential. If anything, the blog has been the site of Harper’s most consistently interesting political reporting of late, and whoever decided to give it to Scott Horton (whose piece “The Guantánamo ‘Suicides’: A Camp Delta sergeant blows the whistle” is essential reading) made a great choice.

In terms of the book coverage, there have been some nice pieces; see, for instance, “Ways of not seeing: On the limits of design fetishism” by Mark Kingwell, or about anything Wyatt Mason has written for Harper’s recently. But there have also been some downright disappointing and/or bizarre inclusions; Dave Hickey’s essay on Reborn, Susan Sontag’s diaries, stands out as bizarre, and Francine Prose’s literary criticism has been distinctly lackluster. And I’ve long been mystified as to why they keep publishing William H. Gass’s pocket biographies of great authors instead of actual criticism.

But anyway, here’s to change and some hopes that Harper’s starts hitting the high note a little more often.

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. NYRB Editor on Andrey Platonov NYRB Classics editor Edwin Frank discusses Platanov’s The Foundation Pit at the NYRB Classics blog. Much of Frank’s post deals with the language of...
  2. Sara Nelson Laid Off as Editor of PW The New York Observer discusses PW’s surprising layoff of Sara Nelson: The New York Times reports the astonishing news that Sara Nelson, the editor-in-chief of...
  3. Translations So, we know that it’s pretty dang hard to get your work translated into English; unless you’re a pretty major author you’ll just be ignored....
  4. Be Careful We now have proof (little did we need it) that Gaddis can induce insanity. Any yet, Wyatt Mason looks like such a calm person. ...
  5. More Mason on Franzen I’m really liking what Wyatt Mason is doing with his Franzen/Wood discussion, but I do wish he’d just give it to us in a single...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

2 comments to Editor of Harper's Out

  • Travis Kurowski

    I have to say that I kind of wonder if Hodge’s rumored dismissal has something to do with the searing editorial he opened the latest issue of the magazine with. Though Harper’s editorial introductions are known to be polemical in the extreme, this was even, I think, a bit outside the ballpark of tradition. Among other things, he likens Obama to Dick Cheney. The piece was off putting, not in its slant or subject exactly, but because it read as a smear without any evidence to back it up. Even Lapham would hoist out the occasional fact or anecdotal bit.

    Just a thought…

  • admin

    Travis,

    That’s a fair question. Though I think dismissal over just that would be a little extreme, I have had people make similar comments to me on that particular editorial. Of course, you could look at it the other way and say Hodge saw what was coming and wanted to go out in a blaze.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>