The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • A Legacy by Sybille Bedford March 15, 2015
    Sybille Bedford had the benefit—or bad fortune, however you see it—of being born into the German aristocracy in 1911. Her father was a retired lieutenant colonel and art collector from the agrarian south, from a Roman Catholic family in fiscal decline. Her mother came from a wealthy German-Jewish family from Hamburg. A widower from his first marriage, Bedfor […]
  • Reviving Antal Szerb March 15, 2015
    Antal Szerb’s lithe, lively, and wholly endearing fiction is peopled by male dreamers on spiritual journeys of self-discovery. Each one sets out on his respective mini-mission with good intentions but knows from the outset that there are only so many harsh truths he can withstand. In this respect, all Szerb’s protagonists seem to have heeded the advice of Gr […]
  • 39 Africans Walk into a Bar March 15, 2015
    New anthologies of African fiction seem to materialize virtually every year, if not more often in recent years. When presented with the physical fact of yet another new anthology of African fiction, the immediate question, one which I was asked when I pressed the warm, bound pages of the Africa39 anthology into the even warmer hands of a new acquaintance, wa […]
  • The Country Road by Regina Ullmann March 15, 2015
    This collection of short stories, her first to appear in English, counters material poverty with a fulfilling and deeply spiritual relationship with the natural world. Ullmann herself was no stranger to hardship. A depressive, she was plagued by personal and professional crises. Financial constraints forced her to send her illegitimate children to the countr […]
  • The Fall of Language in the Age of English by Minae Mizumura March 14, 2015
    The Fall of Language in the Age of English stirred up debate upon its publication in Japan in 2008, and it’s possible it will do so in the U.S. with its arrival in Mari Yoshihara and Juliet Winters Carpenter's translation. In their introduction, Yoshihara and Winters Carpenter, point out that Japanese reviewers accused Mizumura of being a jingoist, an e […]
  • Another View: Tracing the Foreign in Literary Translation by Eduard Stoklosinski March 14, 2015
    Another View demonstrates exciting potential in translation study and praxis. It is especially significant in deconstructing assumptions about fluency and linguistic identity. The author makes some persuasive arguments for considering and even preferring non-native translation of texts, the most controversial of which is the possibility that linguistic compe […]
  • The Latest Five from Dalkey Archive’s “Library of Korea” Series March 14, 2015
    Despite South Korea having the kind of vibrant literary scene you'd expect from a country with one of the highest literacy rates in the world, we're still not exactly inundated with English translations of South Korean fiction. Given this dearth, Dalkey Archive Press's Library of Korean Literature series, twenty five titles published in collab […]
  • B & Me: A True Story of Literary Arousal by J.C. Hallman March 14, 2015
    here’s a conspicuous history of books that simply should not work: Books like U & I by Nicholson Baker, a book-length exercise in “memory criticism,” where Baker traces Updike’s influence on his own writing life while studiously not actually re-reading any of Updike’s books. Or books like Out of Sheer Rage, Geoff Dyer’s book that procrastinates away from […]
  • The Valerie Miles Interview March 14, 2015
    The idea was to uncover the secret life of these texts, why do their creators consider them their best work? What’s the clandestine, the underground, the surreptitious meaning or attachment? Where’s the kernel, the seed from which a body of work grew, what the driving obsession? Is it something sentimental, something technical, maybe even something spiritual […]
  • On Being Blue by William H. Gass March 14, 2015
    Look up at the sky, or down into the ocean, and what color do you see? We see blue, but not Homer—he never once employs the term throughout The Iliad and The Odyssey, famously calling the sea "wine-dark" and the heavens "bronze." Neither did the Greek philosopher Xenophanes say blue—he described the rainbow as having only three colors. Th […]

Gender Bias in PW’s Best Books of the Year?

Matt Cheney:

The good people at Publisher’s Weekly are probably speaking what they think is the truth when they say, about their all-male list of 10 “best” books of the year, that “We ignored gender and genre and who had the buzz.” I believe them when they say, “It disturbed us when we were done that our list was all male.”

But being disturbed is not enough. What they have done is shameful.

This is not just some blogger’s list of favorite books of the year. This is the publishing industry’s trade journal telling the world what ten books from 2009 deserve most acclaim and attention. This list will affect how books are stocked in stores and it will affect what books are bought by libraries. The fact that the list only includes male writers contributes to a problem.

The editors who created this list have chosen to perpetuate sexism. They have deliberately and knowingly made it easier for male writers to have access to sales and publicity at the expense of women writers. Their list perpetuates the idea that the best, most serious, and most consequential books are written by men, and that idea will continue to have an effect out in the world.

Of course Matt is absolutely right when he says that this will have a real effect in the world, and he’s likewise right that PW should do some soul searching, although I find it hard to cast too much blame on PW unless I can at least know who was involved in picking these books and how it was done. Granted, though, this should have them scratching their heads and trying to figure out something a little more diverse next year, just as the NYTBR’s all-Knopf classic should have them re-examining their processes (fat chance).

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. Top Ten Books I Read This Year Right about now everyone and their mother is coming out with a list of the top ten books from 2004. I’m not sure that I’m...
  2. The Millions Year in Reading As usual, The Millions is arranging for best reads of the year lists from all kinds of bloggers, authors, and critics (not that these categories...
  3. Friday Column: Best Books I Read This Year Arranged by somewhat whimsical categories, here are my best reads for 2006. Best Post-9/11 Novels: The Echo Maker by Richard Powers and Triangle by Katharine...
  4. New Year's Resolution As New Year’s Resolutions go, this is a pretty good one. So, if you happen to be in the market for a resolution this New...
  5. Year-End Favorites I run down some of my favorites reads of the year for Max. See some of the others in the same series. ...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

4 comments to Gender Bias in PW’s Best Books of the Year?

  • This is an interesting dilemma, specifically BECAUSE of that large industry-clout you point out PW has; knowing their list would have a real financial impact on writers and bookstores, should the editors at PW have made that list gender-diverse, even if they themselves (by majority vote, I’m assuming) genuinely thought this year no books by women made the ‘top 10′ cut? Is their list irresponsible, even if it honestly reflects their critical appraisal?
    (not that I don’t think their list is daffy – three of the best novels I read this year were by women, and two of those were YARDS better than any new novel by a man I’ve read this year)(but it’s still fascinating to think about)

  • Tom

    As the industry’s leading trade journal, PW has certain obligations regarding what books/authors it chooses to promote; however, forcing it to comply to political correctness is just as dangerous as letting it stir up controversy. After all, why stop at women? Why not demand that a gay writer appear on the list? An African American? A Native American? etc. etc.
    The point is, maybe PW just didn’t find a woman’s book that it considered among the very best of the year. Is this so terrible? The Oscars go year after year without nominating a female director. My point is this: being overly sensitive and shackled to notions of political correctness is a quick way to make such banal lists (and top ten lists are inherently banal) even more irrelevant.

  • Tom,
    I don’t want to put words in Matt’s mouth, but my read of his comments (and my own opinion) is that PW should not institute a quota-type system for reasons of political correctness. My take is that PW should take a look at the processes it used to arrive at this list and see if they can uncover some methodological bias. Obviously, any list-making scheme is going to be biased in some way, and you can certainly find bias in this list in more ways than the male-to-female ratio. However, given that it was 10 – 0, it doesn’t seem like this is asking too much.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>