The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • A Legacy by Sybille Bedford March 15, 2015
    Sybille Bedford had the benefit—or bad fortune, however you see it—of being born into the German aristocracy in 1911. Her father was a retired lieutenant colonel and art collector from the agrarian south, from a Roman Catholic family in fiscal decline. Her mother came from a wealthy German-Jewish family from Hamburg. A widower from his first marriage, Bedfor […]
  • Reviving Antal Szerb March 15, 2015
    Antal Szerb’s lithe, lively, and wholly endearing fiction is peopled by male dreamers on spiritual journeys of self-discovery. Each one sets out on his respective mini-mission with good intentions but knows from the outset that there are only so many harsh truths he can withstand. In this respect, all Szerb’s protagonists seem to have heeded the advice of Gr […]
  • 39 Africans Walk into a Bar March 15, 2015
    New anthologies of African fiction seem to materialize virtually every year, if not more often in recent years. When presented with the physical fact of yet another new anthology of African fiction, the immediate question, one which I was asked when I pressed the warm, bound pages of the Africa39 anthology into the even warmer hands of a new acquaintance, wa […]
  • The Country Road by Regina Ullmann March 15, 2015
    This collection of short stories, her first to appear in English, counters material poverty with a fulfilling and deeply spiritual relationship with the natural world. Ullmann herself was no stranger to hardship. A depressive, she was plagued by personal and professional crises. Financial constraints forced her to send her illegitimate children to the countr […]
  • The Fall of Language in the Age of English by Minae Mizumura March 14, 2015
    The Fall of Language in the Age of English stirred up debate upon its publication in Japan in 2008, and it’s possible it will do so in the U.S. with its arrival in Mari Yoshihara and Juliet Winters Carpenter's translation. In their introduction, Yoshihara and Winters Carpenter, point out that Japanese reviewers accused Mizumura of being a jingoist, an e […]
  • Another View: Tracing the Foreign in Literary Translation by Eduard Stoklosinski March 14, 2015
    Another View demonstrates exciting potential in translation study and praxis. It is especially significant in deconstructing assumptions about fluency and linguistic identity. The author makes some persuasive arguments for considering and even preferring non-native translation of texts, the most controversial of which is the possibility that linguistic compe […]
  • The Latest Five from Dalkey Archive’s “Library of Korea” Series March 14, 2015
    Despite South Korea having the kind of vibrant literary scene you'd expect from a country with one of the highest literacy rates in the world, we're still not exactly inundated with English translations of South Korean fiction. Given this dearth, Dalkey Archive Press's Library of Korean Literature series, twenty five titles published in collab […]
  • B & Me: A True Story of Literary Arousal by J.C. Hallman March 14, 2015
    here’s a conspicuous history of books that simply should not work: Books like U & I by Nicholson Baker, a book-length exercise in “memory criticism,” where Baker traces Updike’s influence on his own writing life while studiously not actually re-reading any of Updike’s books. Or books like Out of Sheer Rage, Geoff Dyer’s book that procrastinates away from […]
  • The Valerie Miles Interview March 14, 2015
    The idea was to uncover the secret life of these texts, why do their creators consider them their best work? What’s the clandestine, the underground, the surreptitious meaning or attachment? Where’s the kernel, the seed from which a body of work grew, what the driving obsession? Is it something sentimental, something technical, maybe even something spiritual […]
  • On Being Blue by William H. Gass March 14, 2015
    Look up at the sky, or down into the ocean, and what color do you see? We see blue, but not Homer—he never once employs the term throughout The Iliad and The Odyssey, famously calling the sea "wine-dark" and the heavens "bronze." Neither did the Greek philosopher Xenophanes say blue—he described the rainbow as having only three colors. Th […]

Javier Marias Rejects Spain’s National Literature Prize

It appears that Spain attempted to award Javier Marias with its National Literature Prize for his novel Los enamoramientos (to be published next spring as The Infatuations in Margaret Jull Costa’s translation), and he has declined. Apparently, he has maintained since 1995 that he would decline the award, and this year they finally put him to the test.

Here’s his reasoning:

El escritor sostiene que la razón principal es su voluntad de no querer ser etiquetado como autor “favorecido por este o aquel Gobierno” ni ser involucrado en juegos políticos, por lo que defiende que se habría negado a aceptar el galardón, prescindiendo del partido que estuviera en el poder. También influyó en su decisión el hecho de que muchos autores, entre ellos su padre, Julián Marías, y Juan Benet, Juan García Hortelano y Eduardo Mendoza, jamás recibieron un premio Nacional: “Estos fueron maestros míos y si ellos no lo recibieron, pensaba: ‘¿Por que habría de merecerlo yo?”.

En abril del año pasado durante la presentación de Los enamoramientos, en el Instituto Cervantes de Madrid, el autor dijo que él no recibiría un premio institucional porque le parecía que si su padre no había obtenido ninguno, él no debería aceptar otro. Y en una columna publicada en este periódico el 26 de junio de 2011 afirmaba:”Algunos muy buenos escritores han sido galardonados con los premios oficiales -el Cervantes, el de las Letras, el Nacional-, pero también muchos medianos y malos. En cambio se murieron sin obtener ni siquiera el último -el de menor categoría- Juan Benet, Jaime Gil de Biedma y Juan García Hortelano, y los tres eran ya sexagenarios. Lo mismo le pasó a mi padre, Julián Marías, y él murió nonagenario”.

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. Does Latin American Literature Exist? In Letras Libres, Gustavo Guerrero ponders if Latin American fiction isn’t too fragmented to be considered as a whole: Yo tengo para mí que la...
  2. Literature for Four Hands Using the recent book Escribir en colaboration as a jumping-off point, La Nacion runs down some of the more notably literary collaborations: En Escribir en...
  3. Excellent Javier Marias Interview Last month Letras Libres ran a great, lengthy interview with Javier Marias. Lots of good stuff in here, including some words about Margaret Jull Costa's...
  4. New Javier Marias Novel, Los enamoramientos El Pais is reporting on a new Javier Marias novel, Los enamoramientos, to publish April 6 of this year. Interestingly, Marias states that this novel...
  5. Literature in the Dominican Republic I don’t think I’ve ever read an author from the Dominican Republic, and I imagine not too many have been translated into English, but now...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

3 comments to Javier Marias Rejects Spain’s National Literature Prize

  • Google says:

    The writer argues that the main reason is their unwillingness to be labeled as author “favored by this or that government” or be involved in political games, so he argues that he would have refused to accept the award, regardless of the party that was in power. Another factor in its decision that many writers, including her father, Julián Marías, and Juan Benet, Juan Garcia and Eduardo Mendoza Hortelano, never received a National Award: “These were my teachers and if they did not, thought ‘Why would I deserve it? “.

    In April last year at the launch of The crushes, the Cervantes Institute in Madrid, the author said that he would not receive an award because he felt that institutional if his father had not received any, he should not accept another. And in a column published in this newspaper on June 26, 2011 stated: “Some very good writers have been awarded the official awards-Cervantes, of Letters, National-, but also many medium and bad. Instead he died without getting the last-even the lowest category-Juan Benet, Jaime Gil de Viedma and Juan Garcia Hortelano, and all three were already sixties. The same thing happened to my father, Julián Marías, and he died in his nineties. “

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>