Quantcast

The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • A Treatise on Shelling Beans by Wiesław Myśliwski March 9, 2014
    A man enters a house and asks to buy some beans, but we aren’t given his question, only the response: humble surprise from the narrator and an invitation inside. This modesty, though it remains at the core of the narrator throughout, is quickly overwhelmed when his questions, his welcoming explanations, flow into an effort to tell his whole life story, from […]
  • The Gorgeous Nothings by Emily Dickinson, edited by Marta Werner and Jen Bervin March 9, 2014
    The Gorgeous Nothings, the dedicated work of visual artist Jen Bervin and author Marta Werner, presents in large format the first full-color publication of all fifty-two of Emily Dickinson’s envelope writings. As such, it opens up an aspect of her craft that suggests she was, in the so-called late ecstatic period of her career, experimenting with creating te […]
  • The Mehlis Report by Rabee Jaber March 9, 2014
    The Mehlis Report follows the architect Saman Yarid on his daily perambulations around Lebanon's capital, where his memories of the city's past and his observations of the high-rises that have emerged from the ruins of the nation's civil war dominate the faint plot. But the book transcends Beirut: Jaber writes about what is left behind when pe […]
  • The Fiddler of Driskill Hill by David Middleton March 9, 2014
    Middleton’s sensibility as poet and man is thoroughly Christian, Southern (or rather, Louisianan), and traditional, but he’s no unreconstructed romantic Rebel reliving the Civil War. His manner is meditative and elegiac, not rancorous or redneck. In a rare useful blurb on the back of the book, the North Carolina poet and novelist Fred Chappell describes Midd […]
  • The Fata Morgana Books by Jonathan Littell March 9, 2014
    After The Kindly Ones, the nine hundred-page long Goncourt Prize-winning “autobiography” of a Nazi, fans of the Franco-American writer Jonathan Littell may heave an inward sigh of relief at the sight of The Fata Morgana Books. A slim collection of “studies” (as some of these stories were called in their original French incarnations), The Fata Morgana Books n […]
  • Novelty: A History of the New by Michael North March 9, 2014
    There is no better way to ensure the early demise of a form or a style than to proclaim its newness; fewer epithets are as old as “new.” A well-known work by Italian artist Maurizio Nannucci reads, “All art has been contemporary”—we may wish to amend it, for present purposes, and have it read, “All art has been new.” Yet surely this is something of a truism. […]
  • A Life Among Invented Characters: A Tribute to Mavis Gallant March 9, 2014
    Two things immediately come to mind when remembering Mavis Gallant: her unique sense of humor—stories always told with a wry half-smile—and her near-comical stonewalling when confronted with leading questions about her craft in interviews and with audiences. The first time I was in her simple three-room apartment on rue Jean Ferrandi, a mere three blocks fro […]
  • The Guy Davenport Reader March 9, 2014
    Poet-critic. Think of that word, made of two—what a beaux construction. The first is wild, hair mussed, looking at a bird in a tree—yet the follower is practical, urbane, and seemingly obeisant to word counts. Together they bleach out the fusspot academic and appeal to logos—Davenport once said that he was “not writing for scholars or critics, but for people […]
  • [SIC] by Davis Schneiderman March 9, 2014
    In 2011 Andrew Gallix, in the Guardian, wrote a piece on unread difficult books, and mentioned “an anthology of blank books [edited by Michael Gibbs] entitled All Or Nothing,” and we can consider Blank as continuing that line. Kenneth Goldsmith’s prefatory essay “Why Conceptual Writing? Why Now?” in Against Expression: An Anthology of Conceptual Writing (201 […]
  • The Ben Marcus Interview March 9, 2014
    I do tend to generate a lot of pages when I’m drafting something, and I cut as I go. I make strange noises out of my face, on the page, and they are for the most part not worth keeping. Some of the stories don’t take shape until I overwrite and pursue every cursed dead-end I can think of, which clarifies everything I don’t want the story to become. But I don […]

Selected Publications and Events by Scott Esposito

Books

Selected Events, Papers, and Presentations

  • In conversation with Katherine Silver, City Lights Bookstore, October 22, 2013
  • Panelist, “That Doesn’t Work in English,” October 19, 2013, Annual Conference of the American Literary Translators Association
  • Presenter, Roberto Bolaño and World Literature, May 15-16, 2013, University of Warwick, UK
  • In conversation with Mikhail Shishkin and Marian Schwartz on Maidenhair by Mikhail Shishkin, April 4, 2013, Hotel Rex
  • In conversation with Daniel Levin Becker on La Boutique Obscure by Georges Perec and The End of Oulipo? by Scott Esposito and Lauren Elkin, February 18, 2013, City Lights Bookstore
  • Panelist, Z Space, “In Praise of Potential Literature,” with Daniel Levin Becker, Robin Sloan, and Matthew Zapruder moderated by John McMurtrie, May 10, 2012
  • Panelist, The Blue Metropolis Festival, “Translating David Foster Wallace,” April 21, 2012
  • Panelist, The Blue Metropolis Festival, “Cracking the U.S. Market,” April 20, 2012
  • Panelist, Association of Writers & Writing Programs Annual Conference, “The Experimental and the International,” February 4, 2011
  • Panelist, American Literary Translators Association Annual Conference, “Bringing It All Back Home,” on October 23, 2010
  • Moderator, Center for the Art of Translation/Litquake Panel “What Should I Read in Translation?” on October 3, 2010
  • Organizer/moderator, Found in Translation Book Group at The Booksmith, since January 2010
  • Guest of the International Festival of Authors in Toronto, October 23 – 30, 2009
  • Panelist, National Book Critics Circle/Litquake NBCC Reads Translation Panel, October 13, 2009
  • Master of Ceremonies, Berkeley City Arts and Letters event with Rebecca Solnit, September 17, 2009
  • Leader/facilitator, Indie Bookstore Tour in San Francisco, July 25, 2009

Awards/Honors

  • Evaluator, Creative Capital Grant Literature Category, 2012
  • Butterfield Scholarship Recipient, 2011

Professional Associations

  • Senior Editor, TWO LINES
  • Judge, Open Letter Press’s Best Translated Book Award, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
  • Staff reviewer, Publishers Weekly, 2009-11

Selected Publications

2014

  • The Eclipse; Or, The Vulva. Golden Handcuffs Review Fall 2014/Winter 2015.
  • A Sympathetic and Horrified Response to Michael Haneke’s The Seventh Continent, Drunken Boat 19
  • Interview with Karl Ove Knausgaard, Tin House Issue 60, Summer 2014
  • Review of The Planets by Sergio Chejfec, Review Issue 88 (the Americas Society)
  • Introduction to A Dream of Horses and Other Stories by Aashish Kaul. Roundfire Books, May 2014
  • Review of Blinding by Mircea Cartarescu, Kenyon Review, Spring 2014.
  • Do we really need Hemingway App?, San Francisco Chronicle, April 8, 2014
  • The Gate Deferred: JM Coetzee and the Battle Against Doubt, Southerly, 73.3.
  • Modernist Anecdotes, The Quarterly Conversation, Spring 2014.
  • Another Way of Thinking, The White Review, February 2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

Prior to 2003