The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • A Legacy by Sybille Bedford March 15, 2015
    Sybille Bedford had the benefit—or bad fortune, however you see it—of being born into the German aristocracy in 1911. Her father was a retired lieutenant colonel and art collector from the agrarian south, from a Roman Catholic family in fiscal decline. Her mother came from a wealthy German-Jewish family from Hamburg. A widower from his first marriage, Bedfor […]
  • Reviving Antal Szerb March 15, 2015
    Antal Szerb’s lithe, lively, and wholly endearing fiction is peopled by male dreamers on spiritual journeys of self-discovery. Each one sets out on his respective mini-mission with good intentions but knows from the outset that there are only so many harsh truths he can withstand. In this respect, all Szerb’s protagonists seem to have heeded the advice of Gr […]
  • 39 Africans Walk into a Bar March 15, 2015
    New anthologies of African fiction seem to materialize virtually every year, if not more often in recent years. When presented with the physical fact of yet another new anthology of African fiction, the immediate question, one which I was asked when I pressed the warm, bound pages of the Africa39 anthology into the even warmer hands of a new acquaintance, wa […]
  • The Country Road by Regina Ullmann March 15, 2015
    This collection of short stories, her first to appear in English, counters material poverty with a fulfilling and deeply spiritual relationship with the natural world. Ullmann herself was no stranger to hardship. A depressive, she was plagued by personal and professional crises. Financial constraints forced her to send her illegitimate children to the countr […]
  • The Fall of Language in the Age of English by Minae Mizumura March 14, 2015
    The Fall of Language in the Age of English stirred up debate upon its publication in Japan in 2008, and it’s possible it will do so in the U.S. with its arrival in Mari Yoshihara and Juliet Winters Carpenter's translation. In their introduction, Yoshihara and Winters Carpenter, point out that Japanese reviewers accused Mizumura of being a jingoist, an e […]
  • Another View: Tracing the Foreign in Literary Translation by Eduard Stoklosinski March 14, 2015
    Another View demonstrates exciting potential in translation study and praxis. It is especially significant in deconstructing assumptions about fluency and linguistic identity. The author makes some persuasive arguments for considering and even preferring non-native translation of texts, the most controversial of which is the possibility that linguistic compe […]
  • The Latest Five from Dalkey Archive’s “Library of Korea” Series March 14, 2015
    Despite South Korea having the kind of vibrant literary scene you'd expect from a country with one of the highest literacy rates in the world, we're still not exactly inundated with English translations of South Korean fiction. Given this dearth, Dalkey Archive Press's Library of Korean Literature series, twenty five titles published in collab […]
  • B & Me: A True Story of Literary Arousal by J.C. Hallman March 14, 2015
    here’s a conspicuous history of books that simply should not work: Books like U & I by Nicholson Baker, a book-length exercise in “memory criticism,” where Baker traces Updike’s influence on his own writing life while studiously not actually re-reading any of Updike’s books. Or books like Out of Sheer Rage, Geoff Dyer’s book that procrastinates away from […]
  • The Valerie Miles Interview March 14, 2015
    The idea was to uncover the secret life of these texts, why do their creators consider them their best work? What’s the clandestine, the underground, the surreptitious meaning or attachment? Where’s the kernel, the seed from which a body of work grew, what the driving obsession? Is it something sentimental, something technical, maybe even something spiritual […]
  • On Being Blue by William H. Gass March 14, 2015
    Look up at the sky, or down into the ocean, and what color do you see? We see blue, but not Homer—he never once employs the term throughout The Iliad and The Odyssey, famously calling the sea "wine-dark" and the heavens "bronze." Neither did the Greek philosopher Xenophanes say blue—he described the rainbow as having only three colors. Th […]

Selected Publications and Events by Scott Esposito

Books

Selected Events, Papers, and Presentations

  • PEN World Voices, May 2015
  • London Book Fair, April 2015
  • In conversation with Carmen Boullosa, City Lights Books, February 12, 2015
  • In conversation with Ian McNiven and Peggy Fox, City Lights Books, December 4, 2014
  • Literary Magazine Editors Roundtable: Publishing Fiction in Translation, American Literary Translators Association conference, November 14, 2014
  • Trigger Warnings: Political Correctness in Translation, American Literary Translators Association conference, November 14, 2014
  • An Insider’s Look at the Politics of Reviewing Translations, American Literary Translators Association conference, November 13, 2014
  • In conversation with Jan Steyn and Lorin Stein, The Lab, November 5, 2014
  • In conversation with Ari Larissa Heinrich, City Lights Bookstore, October 29, 2014
  • In conversation with Ottilie Mulzet, Center for the Art of Translation, October 8, 2014
  • In conversation with Naja Marie Aidt, The Booksmith, September 25, 2014
  • In conversation with Scholastique Mukasonga, City Lights Bookstore, September 18, 2014
  • In conversation with Katherine Silver, City Lights Bookstore, October 22, 2013
  • Panelist, “That Doesn’t Work in English,” October 19, 2013, Annual Conference of the American Literary Translators Association
  • Presenter, Roberto Bolaño and World Literature, May 15-16, 2013, University of Warwick, UK
  • In conversation with Mikhail Shishkin and Marian Schwartz on Maidenhair by Mikhail Shishkin, April 4, 2013, Hotel Rex
  • In conversation with Daniel Levin Becker on La Boutique Obscure by Georges Perec and The End of Oulipo? by Scott Esposito and Lauren Elkin, February 18, 2013, City Lights Bookstore
  • Panelist, Z Space, “In Praise of Potential Literature,” with Daniel Levin Becker, Robin Sloan, and Matthew Zapruder moderated by John McMurtrie, May 10, 2012
  • Panelist, The Blue Metropolis Festival, “Translating David Foster Wallace,” April 21, 2012
  • Panelist, The Blue Metropolis Festival, “Cracking the U.S. Market,” April 20, 2012
  • Panelist, Association of Writers & Writing Programs Annual Conference, “The Experimental and the International,” February 4, 2011
  • Panelist, American Literary Translators Association Annual Conference, “Bringing It All Back Home,” on October 23, 2010
  • Moderator, Center for the Art of Translation/Litquake Panel “What Should I Read in Translation?” on October 3, 2010
  • Organizer/moderator, Found in Translation Book Group at The Booksmith, since January 2010
  • Guest of the International Festival of Authors in Toronto, October 23 – 30, 2009
  • Panelist, National Book Critics Circle/Litquake NBCC Reads Translation Panel, October 13, 2009
  • Master of Ceremonies, Berkeley City Arts and Letters event with Rebecca Solnit, September 17, 2009
  • Leader/facilitator, Indie Bookstore Tour in San Francisco, July 25, 2009

Awards/Honors

  • Entropy Magazine Literary Advocate, 2014
  • Evaluator, Creative Capital Grant Literature Category, 2012
  • Butterfield Scholarship Recipient, 2011

Professional Associations

  • Senior Editor, TWO LINES
  • Judge, Open Letter Press’s Best Translated Book Award, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
  • Staff reviewer, Publishers Weekly, 2009-11

Selected Publications

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

Prior to 2003