The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • [[there.]] by Lance Olsen December 15, 2014
    Lance Olsen is the author of two recent works, [[there.]] and Theories of Forgetting (FC2). The second presents three narratives in a clearly fictional mode while the first offers day-to-day thoughts on living in another country. We rightly suspect that any artist’s memoir or diary ought to be viewed as written with a prospective public in mind, no matter ho […]
  • Noir and Nihilism in True Detective December 15, 2014
    "It’s just one story. The oldest. . . . Light versus dark." Spanning 8 episodes between January and March of 2014, HBO’s runaway hit True Detective challenged the status quo of contemporary crime drama. The show has been widely celebrated for its philosophy, complexity, and visual aesthetic. Co-starring actors Matthew McConaughey as Rustin "Ru […]
  • The Colonel’s World December 15, 2014
    Mahmoud Dowlatabadi (born 1940) is considered by many the living Iranian novelist, a perennial Nobel Prize candidate. Dowlatabadi wrote The Colonel some thirty years ago, because in his own words he had been “afflicted.” The subject forced him to sit at the desk and write nonstop for two years. “Writing The Colonel I felt a strong sense of indignation and pa […]
  • Mr Gwyn and Three Times at Dawn by Alessandro Baricco December 15, 2014
    Alessandro Baricco’s well-crafted, elegant prose seems as though it should create the impression of distance, or of abstraction; instead, the reader of Mr. Gwyn and Three Times at Dawn becomes wholly implicated and immersed, drawn into a dreamy and idiosyncratic world that blurs the division between reader, character and writer. As readers, we expect that th […]
  • The Walls of Delhi by Uday Prakash December 15, 2014
    "The paan shop leads to the opening of a tunnel, full of the creatures of the city, and the tears and spit of a fakir." In a single opening line, Uday Prakash sets the scene for the politically incisive, yet intimately human stories of The Walls of Delhi (translated brilliantly from the Hindi by Jason Grunebaum). Lest the fakir suggest otherwise, t […]
  • The Man Between: Michael Henry Heim and a Life in Translation December 15, 2014
    In a speech reprinted in the book, Heim makes a self-deprecating joke about whether the life of a translator is worth reading: “What does a translator do? He sits and translates!” The Man Between serves as a book-length retort by laying bare all the things Heim did: these include persuading the academy that translation is a scholarly (in addition to a creati […]
  • The Prabda Yoon Interview December 15, 2014
    Yes, I think people are not comfortable anymore to write in this straightforward, traditional way, especially the younger, more progressive writers. So it’s interesting—you have social commentary, and you also get a little bit of structural experiment. You have themes that are very, very Thai. I’m actually very interested to see what new writers will come up […]
  • The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck December 15, 2014
    For Jenny Erpenbeck, no life is lived in an indisputable straight line. Which is why, in her new novel (new in English, though published in 2012 as Aller Tage Abend) she approaches the narrative as a series of potential emotional earthquakes, some which take place, some which might have taken place, all of which reveal something of how political turbulence p […]
  • In the Heart of the Heart of the Country by William H. Gass December 15, 2014
    Once, at a writers symposium, William Howard Gass remarked that to substitute the page for the world is a form of revenge for the recognition that "you are, in terms of the so-called world, an impotent nobody." There is inarguably no contemporary writer of American stock in whose work one might locate a more ambitious war of attrition between innov […]
  • Faces in the Crowd by Valeria Luiselli December 15, 2014
    Luiselli’s first novel, Faces in the Crowd, translated into fluid English by Christina MacSweeney, is the perfect illustration of this attitude toward fiction writing. Narrated in short sections spanning multiple storylines and the better part of one hundred years, it uses "[d]eep excavations" to expose the empty spaces in two lives, those of a you […]

Some Words Are Different from Others

In this age when conversational language is increasingly found in the written form, it’s interesting to see how much privilege people still give to the written word. Robert B Silvers, editor of the NYRB:

The NYRB has had a successful blog since 2010, but Silvers believes many new media haven’t yet found their “critical function”. “Just think of the tweet form,” he says, describing tweets as sometimes “apt and to the point” but often “no more than off-hand wise-cracks”. The challenge now is to find a way of reviewing these things, he says, “just as we would bring a critical perspective to bear on other forms of prose”. He pauses, gazing out of the window. “This is a huge … universe of prose,” he says wistfully, “that is simply slipping through the consciousness of time without any systematic or thoughtful criticism.”

The idea of “bringing a critical perspective” to Twitter is ridiculous. Somewhere right this second someone is saying that 99% of all tweets should be forgotten, and they’re absolutely right. Twitter is conversation, it just happens to occur in prose due to the technologies that we’re using to have it, and you would no more want to systematically sift through Twitter babble than you would want to read back through your daily face-to-face interactions and try to discover the hidden readings or scan through all your text messages for the week. But people seem to think there’s some kind of “readability” to transactions on social media because they’re text-based, instead of spoken.

Obviously researchers can and will find ways to sift the Twitter data, just as they have done for decades with conversational language, but this isn’t the kind of literary critical analysis that Silvers is talking about.

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. They’re Really Ophelia’s Words Dan considers what must be one of the odder constraints to come out of Oulipo: So: now I come to speak. At last. I will...
  2. Calvino on Words and the Invisible There are those who hold that the word is the way of attaining the substance of the world, the final, unique, and absolute substance. Rather...
  3. Pamuk Redux The Literary Saloon points out that The NYRB has repurposed some material originally written by Orhan Pamuk for The Guardian. (The piece appears in a...
  4. Silvina Ocampo at Words Without Borders Silvina Ocampo is an author who really should be in English but probably won't be. She was Adolfo Bioy Casares' wife (and collaborator), she edited...
  5. Wise Words My interest is in solving the problems presented by writing a book. That’s what stops my brain spinning like a car wheel in the snow,...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

6 comments to Some Words Are Different from Others

  • PTSmith

    What do you make of the ways that people like Teju Cole are using Twitter?

  • Padraic

    A great point about the persistent interest in printed text. Most of the humanities have long ago abandoned the exclusive focus on printed text in favor or oral and visual texts.

    On the other hand, I’m sure you can say something systematic and critically interesting about Twitter, or Instagram, of Facebook pictures, or the words you overhear on a subway. Much like there has come to be a serious criticism of works of popular culture, and entire conferences devoted to things like Twilight, Battlestar Gallactica, or Mad Men, I could imagine a future for the humanities that does exactly what Silvers says on, say, LeBron James’s Twitter feed.

    What’s needed is a social media Benjamin to start the ball rolling (there probably already are a few candidates…). Now, if someone thinks pop culture studies are ridiculous (there’s a good argument to made!), then I suppose Silvers’s suggestion is just more of the same, but much of the history of modern criticism has been about expanding the definition of what can be analyzed. I would be shocked if there aren’t students in English PhD programs writing dissertations on Facebook and Twitter right now.

  • admin

    I’m not familiar with Teju Cole’s feed, as I found it too aggravating to follow for very long. Szirtes’ is interesting, although, most of the time when I log on to Twitter, that’s not the sort of thing I’m in the mood for. Probably among people who try to use it “creatively,” I’m more interested in the aphorism, the prosaic, or the non sequitur than anything else.

    I think that people can certainly turn the medium to artistic purposes, just as people (e.g. monologists) turn spoken language into an artform. But the idea that all of Twitter is some kind of a text for us to read is, to me, very much to miss the point of what Twitter actually is.

  • Agree. Twitter is the digital variation on postcards, lawns signs, or bumpers stickers. The nearest literary/critical analogies might be Wittgenstein’s tractatus, Neitzsche’s aphorisms, Benjamin’s arcades project—but in all those cases the format unified around the authorial identity, whereas Twitter disperses.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>