Quantcast

The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • A Treatise on Shelling Beans by Wiesław Myśliwski March 9, 2014
    A man enters a house and asks to buy some beans, but we aren’t given his question, only the response: humble surprise from the narrator and an invitation inside. This modesty, though it remains at the core of the narrator throughout, is quickly overwhelmed when his questions, his welcoming explanations, flow into an effort to tell his whole life story, from […]
  • The Gorgeous Nothings by Emily Dickinson, edited by Marta Werner and Jen Bervin March 9, 2014
    The Gorgeous Nothings, the dedicated work of visual artist Jen Bervin and author Marta Werner, presents in large format the first full-color publication of all fifty-two of Emily Dickinson’s envelope writings. As such, it opens up an aspect of her craft that suggests she was, in the so-called late ecstatic period of her career, experimenting with creating te […]
  • The Mehlis Report by Rabee Jaber March 9, 2014
    The Mehlis Report follows the architect Saman Yarid on his daily perambulations around Lebanon's capital, where his memories of the city's past and his observations of the high-rises that have emerged from the ruins of the nation's civil war dominate the faint plot. But the book transcends Beirut: Jaber writes about what is left behind when pe […]
  • The Fiddler of Driskill Hill by David Middleton March 9, 2014
    Middleton’s sensibility as poet and man is thoroughly Christian, Southern (or rather, Louisianan), and traditional, but he’s no unreconstructed romantic Rebel reliving the Civil War. His manner is meditative and elegiac, not rancorous or redneck. In a rare useful blurb on the back of the book, the North Carolina poet and novelist Fred Chappell describes Midd […]
  • The Fata Morgana Books by Jonathan Littell March 9, 2014
    After The Kindly Ones, the nine hundred-page long Goncourt Prize-winning “autobiography” of a Nazi, fans of the Franco-American writer Jonathan Littell may heave an inward sigh of relief at the sight of The Fata Morgana Books. A slim collection of “studies” (as some of these stories were called in their original French incarnations), The Fata Morgana Books n […]
  • Novelty: A History of the New by Michael North March 9, 2014
    There is no better way to ensure the early demise of a form or a style than to proclaim its newness; fewer epithets are as old as “new.” A well-known work by Italian artist Maurizio Nannucci reads, “All art has been contemporary”—we may wish to amend it, for present purposes, and have it read, “All art has been new.” Yet surely this is something of a truism. […]
  • A Life Among Invented Characters: A Tribute to Mavis Gallant March 9, 2014
    Two things immediately come to mind when remembering Mavis Gallant: her unique sense of humor—stories always told with a wry half-smile—and her near-comical stonewalling when confronted with leading questions about her craft in interviews and with audiences. The first time I was in her simple three-room apartment on rue Jean Ferrandi, a mere three blocks fro […]
  • The Guy Davenport Reader March 9, 2014
    Poet-critic. Think of that word, made of two—what a beaux construction. The first is wild, hair mussed, looking at a bird in a tree—yet the follower is practical, urbane, and seemingly obeisant to word counts. Together they bleach out the fusspot academic and appeal to logos—Davenport once said that he was “not writing for scholars or critics, but for people […]
  • [SIC] by Davis Schneiderman March 9, 2014
    In 2011 Andrew Gallix, in the Guardian, wrote a piece on unread difficult books, and mentioned “an anthology of blank books [edited by Michael Gibbs] entitled All Or Nothing,” and we can consider Blank as continuing that line. Kenneth Goldsmith’s prefatory essay “Why Conceptual Writing? Why Now?” in Against Expression: An Anthology of Conceptual Writing (201 […]
  • The Ben Marcus Interview March 9, 2014
    I do tend to generate a lot of pages when I’m drafting something, and I cut as I go. I make strange noises out of my face, on the page, and they are for the most part not worth keeping. Some of the stories don’t take shape until I overwrite and pursue every cursed dead-end I can think of, which clarifies everything I don’t want the story to become. But I don […]

The Real Inventor of Magical Realism

From the NYRB's review of the current Garcia Marquez bio:

García Márquez popularized the style, but he was not its inventor, and One Hundred Years of Solitude would not have been possible without his hav- ing studied, at Carlos Fuentes's urging, the works of an older generation of Spanish-American writers who were magic realism's pioneers, among them Alejo Carpentier and Miguel Asturias.[3] It is remarkable that so little influence on his writing is credited to his Latin American precursors. This is partly because García Márquez himself has been reluctant to give them their due. At times he seems to enjoy casting himself as the magician who created a new Spanish-American literature out of thin air.

The footnote embedded in the paragraph informs us that

[3]The Cuban novelist Alejo Carpentier coined the term— lo real maravilloso—in 1949 to describe what he thought of as his variation on French Surrealism. Miguel Angel Asturias's phantasmagoric novel about a dictator, El Señor Presidente (1946), was the prototype for García Márquez's The Autumn of the Patriarch. In 1967, Asturias, a Guatemalan, became the first Latin American novelist to be awarded the Nobel Prize. García Márquez was awarded the prize in 1982.

Read Alejo Carpentier.

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. The Long Arm of Coincidence, the Involuntary Memory Andrew Seal gives me another excuse to talk about Alejo Carpentier by putting up a splendid quote from an essay on Carpentier by Paul...
  2. Carpientier in The Guardian In The Guardian, Leonardo Padura recommends you read Alejo Carpentier. I wholeheartedly agree: 1. Explosion in a Cathedral (El siglo de las luces) by Alejo...
  3. Dominating Figures Via the Literary Saloon, I read: Several of the authors have spent a considerable amount of time in New York and Lago, who has been...
  4. Latin American Fiction Beyond Marquez There's not much benefit in certain people's infatuation with reporting every last remark Gabriel Garcia Marquez might have made, but at least one good thing...
  5. Realism vs Non I think Dan’s got a point. As long as such fiction does not unsettle established conventions of craft and decorum too severely (as long as...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

10 comments to The Real Inventor of Magical Realism

  • By lo real maravilloso Carpentier did not mean exactly what the English “translation” magical realism conveys, but rather something more like heightened realism; there is nothing in Carpentier’s work that is very much like GGM’s 100 Years).

  • Cesar Bruto

    Michael Greenberg is incorrect. G.G. Marquez has credited Alejo Carpentier.

  • Xensen,
    I don’t think Greenberg is claiming that Carpentier wrote a book like 100 Years, otherwise Garcia Marquez would simply be derivative. But his fiction clearly does presage a lot of what Garcia Marquez and other Boom novelists were engaged in.

  • Cesar,
    Do you have a citation for that?

  • I thought surely Juan Rulfo’s novel, Pedro Paramo, would make an appearance in this discussion.

  • Cesar Bruto

    Scott,
    I will check my library. It’s got to be in either the Paris Review book of Latin American interviews, or in Vivir para Contarla, or in Donoso’s book about the Boom.

  • Molly is correct that Rulfo is an important influence on Fuentes and to some degree all the boom writers. I think Carpentier’s influence is significantly stronger on Fuentes than on GGM. Asturias is certainly another important predecessor, although also a bit of an outlier in some respects. Cortazar is another influence who might be mentioned (BTW, I have translated books by several of these). My main point was just that the English term magical realism has come to be used in a very different way from the way Alejo used realismo magico, and this sometimes leads English-language readers astray.

  • Xensen,
    I agree with your differentiation of magical realism and realismo magico, and it’s a good point.
    Certainly Rulfo would be another influence, although I don’t quite see how Cortazar would be an influence, since he’s generally acknowledged as one of the major Boom writers and a contemporary of Garcia Marquez and Fuentes. I suppose you’re talking in terms of cross-pollination, as the Boom writers evolved throughout their careers?

  • Cortazar is nearly a generation older than Garcia M. and Fuentes.

  • Mary Averett

    I recall reading Wilder’s Bridge at San Luis Rey, published in 1927 and winner of the Pulitzer Prize. Never expecting the feel of this book, I wondered about magical realism, and where the influence came for this book, since my experience with it has been via Garcia Marques who wrote much later. Has anyone made that connection?

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>