The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • A Legacy by Sybille Bedford March 15, 2015
    Sybille Bedford had the benefit—or bad fortune, however you see it—of being born into the German aristocracy in 1911. Her father was a retired lieutenant colonel and art collector from the agrarian south, from a Roman Catholic family in fiscal decline. Her mother came from a wealthy German-Jewish family from Hamburg. A widower from his first marriage, Bedfor […]
  • Reviving Antal Szerb March 15, 2015
    Antal Szerb’s lithe, lively, and wholly endearing fiction is peopled by male dreamers on spiritual journeys of self-discovery. Each one sets out on his respective mini-mission with good intentions but knows from the outset that there are only so many harsh truths he can withstand. In this respect, all Szerb’s protagonists seem to have heeded the advice of Gr […]
  • 39 Africans Walk into a Bar March 15, 2015
    New anthologies of African fiction seem to materialize virtually every year, if not more often in recent years. When presented with the physical fact of yet another new anthology of African fiction, the immediate question, one which I was asked when I pressed the warm, bound pages of the Africa39 anthology into the even warmer hands of a new acquaintance, wa […]
  • The Country Road by Regina Ullmann March 15, 2015
    This collection of short stories, her first to appear in English, counters material poverty with a fulfilling and deeply spiritual relationship with the natural world. Ullmann herself was no stranger to hardship. A depressive, she was plagued by personal and professional crises. Financial constraints forced her to send her illegitimate children to the countr […]
  • The Fall of Language in the Age of English by Minae Mizumura March 14, 2015
    The Fall of Language in the Age of English stirred up debate upon its publication in Japan in 2008, and it’s possible it will do so in the U.S. with its arrival in Mari Yoshihara and Juliet Winters Carpenter's translation. In their introduction, Yoshihara and Winters Carpenter, point out that Japanese reviewers accused Mizumura of being a jingoist, an e […]
  • Another View: Tracing the Foreign in Literary Translation by Eduard Stoklosinski March 14, 2015
    Another View demonstrates exciting potential in translation study and praxis. It is especially significant in deconstructing assumptions about fluency and linguistic identity. The author makes some persuasive arguments for considering and even preferring non-native translation of texts, the most controversial of which is the possibility that linguistic compe […]
  • The Latest Five from Dalkey Archive’s “Library of Korea” Series March 14, 2015
    Despite South Korea having the kind of vibrant literary scene you'd expect from a country with one of the highest literacy rates in the world, we're still not exactly inundated with English translations of South Korean fiction. Given this dearth, Dalkey Archive Press's Library of Korean Literature series, twenty five titles published in collab […]
  • B & Me: A True Story of Literary Arousal by J.C. Hallman March 14, 2015
    here’s a conspicuous history of books that simply should not work: Books like U & I by Nicholson Baker, a book-length exercise in “memory criticism,” where Baker traces Updike’s influence on his own writing life while studiously not actually re-reading any of Updike’s books. Or books like Out of Sheer Rage, Geoff Dyer’s book that procrastinates away from […]
  • The Valerie Miles Interview March 14, 2015
    The idea was to uncover the secret life of these texts, why do their creators consider them their best work? What’s the clandestine, the underground, the surreptitious meaning or attachment? Where’s the kernel, the seed from which a body of work grew, what the driving obsession? Is it something sentimental, something technical, maybe even something spiritual […]
  • On Being Blue by William H. Gass March 14, 2015
    Look up at the sky, or down into the ocean, and what color do you see? We see blue, but not Homer—he never once employs the term throughout The Iliad and The Odyssey, famously calling the sea "wine-dark" and the heavens "bronze." Neither did the Greek philosopher Xenophanes say blue—he described the rainbow as having only three colors. Th […]

TQC Favorites of 2012: Francois Monti

Francois Monti is the European Editor of The Quarterly Conversation.

2012 was the year life caught up with literature, but I’m still happy I managed to force some commitments to make way for a few great books. Here is a short selection, in chronological order of reading:

Yuri Herrera – Los Trabajos del Reino & Señales que precederan el fin del mundo: two fantastic short novels about two phenomenon that have a huge impact on both Mexico and the United States : the former deals with drug overlords, the latter with illegal immigration. Novel length prose narco-corrido and the mythical adventures of coyotes: if you only read one Mexican author next year, go for Herrera. Unfortunately, you’ll have to do it in Spanish.

Kevin Brownlow – The Parade’s Gone By. 44 years later, no one has published a better essay on American silent movies. Brownlow met them all (well, the ones that were still alive) and had them talking. Packed with fantastic insights and invaluable testimonies, this book will have you rush to Criterion or Eureka’s website. If only we could get an updated version, with everything Brownlow learned since 1968…

Lowell Edmunds – Martini, Straight Up. In 1981, nobody cared about cocktails. Not even Tom Cruise. Lowell Edmunds, Classics professor at Rutgers loved his martini and decided to write this short and fascinating study. It remains to this day the only cocktail book published in a Cultural Studies collection that I know of. The only negative thing I could say about it is that the writing (ah, Academia…) is a bit dry. No pun intended.

Juan Francisco Ferré – Karnaval. Now, let’s imagine Coover’s Public Burning with Strauss-Kahn instead of Nixon . . . A master of the world called Edison. DSK transformed into God K. God K (the last hope of dying social-democracy?) decides to take on the world and defeat the system. Weird and wonderful at the same time. Obviously. And I haven’t even told you about the book’s central pages: a (fictional) documentary on the Strauss-Kahn case. One of the interviewees is one Harold Bloom. “Shakespeare wrote about this,” he says.

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. TQC Favorites of 2012 We’ve polled a number of editors and contributors to The Quarterly Conversation for the favorite reads of the year, and we will be rolling them...
  2. TQC Favorites of 2012: K.T. Kahn K.T. Kahn reviewed Inland by Gerald Murnane in our fall 2012 issue. 1. Ice by Anna Kavan Kavan creates a world that is the stuff...
  3. TQC Favorites of 2012: Erica Mena Here are the 5 picks from TQC Poetry Editor Erica Mena. 1. The Keep by Emily Wilson This book demands to be consumed slowly, word...
  4. TQC Favorites of 2012: Brad Johnson Brad Johnson reviewed The Planets by Sergio Chejfec in the Winter 2013 issue. Reiner Stach, KAFKA: THE DECISIVE YEARS The first volume of Stach’s three-volume...
  5. TQC Favorites of 2012: Daniel Medin Daniel Medin is the Senior Editor of The Quarterly Conversation. Novels 1. László Krasznahorkai: Satantango (New Directions) I love Krasznahorkai’s dark discerning humor, and was...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

1 comment to TQC Favorites of 2012: Francois Monti

  • l

    As someone who lives half time in Central Mexico I was happy to see two young Mexican novelists on this list, Yuri Herrera & Juan Francisco Ferré. The terrible truth, though, is that these writers are little read in Mexico because of the ridiculous price of books in Mexico. Federal law prohibits charging less than the published price of books for the first two years of publication, and even after the two years, reductions of more than maybe 20% are rare. Both of Ferré’s books are paperback novellas. Each is listed for 228 pesos. That is almost $USD 20, and in Mexico it is more than you would pay for an appointment with a lawyer or doctor, and almost a week’s gross income at the minimum wage. Herrera’s Karnaval, another paperback novel, is 300 pesos.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>