The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay by Elena Ferrante September 16, 2014
    Few novelists have captured the rhythms and flow of life with the veracity of Elena Ferrante in her Neapolitan Novels. Following the friendship between Elena Greco and Lila Cerullo from childhood to old age, the tetralogy spans fifty years; over the course of that time, no emotion is too small, too dark, too banal to be recorded. No expense, so to speak, is […]
  • Trieste by Daša Drndić September 15, 2014
    As Drndić reiterates throughout the novel, “Behind every name there is a story.” And Haya Tedeschi’s story is draped in death. Born to a Jewish family that converted to Catholicism and tacitly supported the Fascists in Italy, Haya was a bystander to the Holocaust. She attended movies while Jews and partisans were transported to concentration camps; she pored […]
  • The Tree With No Name by Drago Jančar September 15, 2014
    At the opening of chapter 87—the first chapter found in The Tree with No Name—Janez Lipnik finds himself up a tree, shoeless, and lost in the Slovenian countryside. He makes his way to a house where he is taken in by a woman teacher who is waiting for her lover, a soldier. It becomes clear we are at the height of World War II. Soon after, we follow Lipnik […]
  • Kjell Askildsen, Selected Stories September 15, 2014
    Here, at the midpoint of his narrative, Bernhard, the affectless and purposeless protagonist of "The Unseen," experiences existential near-emancipation at dusk. This retreat toward obscurity in terse, direct language—thematic and stylistic markers of each work in the collection—comes immediately after Bernhard’s sister mentions her plans to enterta […]
  • Berlin Now by Peter Schneider September 15, 2014
    In his new book of essays, Berlin Now, Peter Schneider reveals himself as a gnarled Cold Warrior who has been stricken with many of the maladies common to his generation. With the specter of Communism exorcized, his new enemy is Islam. The book is a collection of short interlocking pieces introducing Anglophone readers to Berlin; it is not being published in […]
  • Paris by Marcos Giralt Torrente September 15, 2014
    In 1999, Marcos Giralt Torrente’s debut novel, Paris, was awarded the XVII Premio Herralde de Novela prize. Despite his success, it took fourteen years for Giralt’s work to appear in English, with the story collection The End of Love arriving in 2013. Now, this year sees the publication of two more books by Giralt: Paris, translated by Margaret Jull Costa, a […]
  • 10:04 by Ben Lerner September 15, 2014
    “It seemed that the [New Yorker] story—which was in part the result of my dealing with the reception of my novel—had been much more widely received than the novel itself,” says the narrator of Ben Lerner’s second novel, 10:04. Perhaps this narrator is Lerner himself—at one point he describes 10:04, within its own pages, as “neither fiction nor nonfiction but […]
  • Theories of Forgetting by Lance Olsen September 15, 2014
    Lance Olsen’s Theories of Forgetting is a masterful work structured around Robert Smithson’s earthwork “The Spiral Jetty.” Olsen’s novel is comprised of three narrations, written each by a separate member of a family. The husband’s and wife’s texts progress in opposite directions across the book, with each page divided among these two inverted texts; though […]
  • An Interview with Lance Olsen September 15, 2014
    The most substantial may be that innovative fiction knows what it is, that someone like me could define it in any productive way, that innovative fiction might somehow be one thing, or somehow consistent through time and space. None of these is the case. That’s exactly what I find most exciting about writing it, reading it, thinking about it. Innovative fict […]
  • The Ants by Sawako Nakayasu September 15, 2014
    In The Ants, we receive a study of existence through ants. That is, there are ants everywhere, ants substituted in every segment of the landscape, yet their behavior seems to reveal something altogether human. Too human. The ants are crushed and disappointed. They are warm and many. They are involved in gang wars and live inside carrot cake. The unique quali […]

We’re Called “Critics” For a Reason

Only saying you like things excludes you from the ranks of critics. It means you’re a glorified journalist.

Merriam Webster:

1 a : one who expresses a reasoned opinion on any matter especially involving a judgment of its value, truth, righteousness, beauty, or technique

b : one who engages often professionally in the analysis, evaluation, or appreciation of works of art or artistic performances

2: one given to harsh or captious judgment

Origin of CRITIC

Latin criticus, from Greek kritikos, from kritikos able to discern or judge, from krinein
First Known Use: 1588

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. Championing Critics David Kipen has an interesting post about how critics who discover authors tend to be forgotten: We all know Alice Walker, the author of The...
  2. But Why Is It Called The Exterminating Angel? Nice essay about a great film, perhaps Bunel’s best. But can anyone tell me why the name The Exterminating Angel? The plot is easy to...
  3. Another Reason to Read Never Let Me Go Well, several, actually. Also see, my coverage. And M John Harrison’s review from earlier this year seem to be one of the better ones. ...
  4. A Nabokov Book Called Think, Write, Speak . . . . . . plus thousands of pages of other Nabokov projects you’ve never heard of. We’ve got the goods at The Constant Conversation. ...
  5. Dream of Reason by Rosa Chacel I just received this thrill-inducing book from the University of Nebraska Press: Dream of Reason by Rosa Chacel, publishing in October. What's gotten my attention?...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

8 comments to We’re Called “Critics” For a Reason

  • vfrancone

    Agreed, but dude, you’re stomping this point a lot.

  • Arturo Ulises

    @vfrancone Beacuse it’s necessary. Most of the published criticism are fluff pieces.

  • I think what’s missing from this debate is the observation that reducing it all to a choice between tough criticism and fluffy puff pieces creates an artificial duality. There are pieces of tough criticism that are incredibly shallow and stupid (as stupid as mindless praise), and there are pieces of criticism that gloriously celebrate the work that they explore. Criticism is neither good nor bad as a function of whether it damns or lauds — it is good or bad as a function of whether it aspires to say the essential in a beautiful way, regardless of what judgement it levels.

    • P.T. Smith

      Exactly. The tone here is the tone of any half-intelligent political debate. Ideologies and binaries as opposed to dialogues towards goals.

      Good criticism is criticism that tells you something core about what a work is doing, and how. Both a negative review and a positive review do that. (I think I let “review” slip in because that may be what we’re really all talking about in the first place.)

  • vfrancone

    @Arturo: I realize this, but this is Scott’s umpteenth post on the subject. And again I agree with him, but after a while the discussion of what makes a critic and who deserves to be called one, lacking “dialogues toward goals” as P.T. Smith mentioned, makes those screaming “I am a critic; this person is not” sound a bit desperate, arrogant, and even callow. Worse, they begin to resemble the academics who denounce creative criticism.

    There may be an influx of quasi-criticism in our 21st century, sure, but good, informed readers surely can see the difference between a critical essay and a fluff piece. They always have and they always will.

    That being said, keep up the great work, Scott.

  • T. Murgatroyd

    Critics, man. Critics never got nothing nice to say. You know the one thing I notice about critics, man? Is critics never ask me how my day went.

    Jerks.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>