The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • [[there.]] by Lance Olsen December 15, 2014
    Lance Olsen is the author of two recent works, [[there.]] and Theories of Forgetting (FC2). The second presents three narratives in a clearly fictional mode while the first offers day-to-day thoughts on living in another country. We rightly suspect that any artist’s memoir or diary ought to be viewed as written with a prospective public in mind, no matter ho […]
  • Noir and Nihilism in True Detective December 15, 2014
    "It’s just one story. The oldest. . . . Light versus dark." Spanning 8 episodes between January and March of 2014, HBO’s runaway hit True Detective challenged the status quo of contemporary crime drama. The show has been widely celebrated for its philosophy, complexity, and visual aesthetic. Co-starring actors Matthew McConaughey as Rustin "Ru […]
  • The Colonel’s World December 15, 2014
    Mahmoud Dowlatabadi (born 1940) is considered by many the living Iranian novelist, a perennial Nobel Prize candidate. Dowlatabadi wrote The Colonel some thirty years ago, because in his own words he had been “afflicted.” The subject forced him to sit at the desk and write nonstop for two years. “Writing The Colonel I felt a strong sense of indignation and pa […]
  • Mr Gwyn and Three Times at Dawn by Alessandro Baricco December 15, 2014
    Alessandro Baricco’s well-crafted, elegant prose seems as though it should create the impression of distance, or of abstraction; instead, the reader of Mr. Gwyn and Three Times at Dawn becomes wholly implicated and immersed, drawn into a dreamy and idiosyncratic world that blurs the division between reader, character and writer. As readers, we expect that th […]
  • The Walls of Delhi by Uday Prakash December 15, 2014
    "The paan shop leads to the opening of a tunnel, full of the creatures of the city, and the tears and spit of a fakir." In a single opening line, Uday Prakash sets the scene for the politically incisive, yet intimately human stories of The Walls of Delhi (translated brilliantly from the Hindi by Jason Grunebaum). Lest the fakir suggest otherwise, t […]
  • The Man Between: Michael Henry Heim and a Life in Translation December 15, 2014
    In a speech reprinted in the book, Heim makes a self-deprecating joke about whether the life of a translator is worth reading: “What does a translator do? He sits and translates!” The Man Between serves as a book-length retort by laying bare all the things Heim did: these include persuading the academy that translation is a scholarly (in addition to a creati […]
  • The Prabda Yoon Interview December 15, 2014
    Yes, I think people are not comfortable anymore to write in this straightforward, traditional way, especially the younger, more progressive writers. So it’s interesting—you have social commentary, and you also get a little bit of structural experiment. You have themes that are very, very Thai. I’m actually very interested to see what new writers will come up […]
  • The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck December 15, 2014
    For Jenny Erpenbeck, no life is lived in an indisputable straight line. Which is why, in her new novel (new in English, though published in 2012 as Aller Tage Abend) she approaches the narrative as a series of potential emotional earthquakes, some which take place, some which might have taken place, all of which reveal something of how political turbulence p […]
  • In the Heart of the Heart of the Country by William H. Gass December 15, 2014
    Once, at a writers symposium, William Howard Gass remarked that to substitute the page for the world is a form of revenge for the recognition that "you are, in terms of the so-called world, an impotent nobody." There is inarguably no contemporary writer of American stock in whose work one might locate a more ambitious war of attrition between innov […]
  • Faces in the Crowd by Valeria Luiselli December 15, 2014
    Luiselli’s first novel, Faces in the Crowd, translated into fluid English by Christina MacSweeney, is the perfect illustration of this attitude toward fiction writing. Narrated in short sections spanning multiple storylines and the better part of one hundred years, it uses "[d]eep excavations" to expose the empty spaces in two lives, those of a you […]

What Are You Reading This Holiday?

cover
cover
cover

These are mine. What do you plan to enjoy over the long weekend?

You Might Also Like:

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. Et Tu James Wood? Jeanette Winterson on narrative in literature: I think the Anglo-American tradition is much more linear than the European tradition. If you think about writers like...
  2. Holiday It is once again time to go off somewhere and pretend that the life I do lead is, in fact, not the life I do...
  3. Even Better than the Time The Vending Machine Gave Me Two Mars Bars for the Price of One Holy fuck. The Guardian has really done it. Look here for new short stories and/or novel extracts from like 30 top authors. I can’t believe...
  4. Chron Holiday Picks It appears that this Sunday’s Chronicle book review is devoted to lists of books you may want to check out over the holidays. A nice...
  5. Reading Place Terry Ceasar’s column on the difficulty for readers these days to find a reading place (he focuses on college students) is getting a lot of...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

10 comments to What Are You Reading This Holiday?

  • I’m hitting Rita Indiana’s “La estrategia de Chochueca”, Rafa Franco Steeves “El peor de mis amigos”, and a re-reading of Murakami’s “After Dark”.

  • Anonymous

    I’ve committed to tackling War & Peace. Thank goodness my family isn’t that celebratory.

  • While keeping at Lord Jim and an OP novel from 1964 by Macdonald Harris, Mortal Leap, I’m ambitiously thinking that I’m also going to fight my way through Julio Cortazar’s Los Reyes in Spanish, dictionary in hand.
    More likely, I’ll get frustrated and give up, as my Spanish is poor. But I’m going to make the effort!

  • Joseph Laizure

    I’m in the same situation as anon: non-celebratory family + big book in the bag, but mine’s Omega Minor. (But the rest of you remind me of the old me with your lists. Today I have finally admitted to myself that I cannot realistically read three or four books over a long weekend.)

  • Mark Finley

    I will be reading Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man and Barchester Towers.

  • Chris

    The Sixties Unplugged by Gerard De Groot
    Brilliant Orange by David Winner
    The Mother’s Mouth by Dash Shaw
    Perverting Perversions by Sylvie Lotringer
    Art Power by Boris Groys
    Death: A comedy in one act by Woody Allen
    Time Out of Mind: The Diaries of Leonard Michaels
    That’s what on my nightstand. I don’t know which one I will pick up first.

  • N K

    Going to start and finish The Shadow Lines by Amitav Ghosh

  • Mark Z. Danielewski, ‘House of Leaves’. If I have time, I might go back and revisit O’Brian’s Aubrey/Maturin novels.
    It’s a weird mix of genres, really– an intellectual horror and a fantastic historical fiction series.

  • Paul

    I’m reading Yalo by Elias Khoury.

  • Virginia Woolf’s Second Common Reader and Moi’s book on Ibsen.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>