The End of Oulipo?

The End of Oulipo? My book (co-authored with Lauren Elkin), published by Zero Books. Available everywhere. Order it from Amazon, or find it in bookstores nationwide. The End of Oulipo

Lady Chatterley’s Brother

Lady Chatterley's Brother. The first ebook in the new TQC Long Essays series, Lady Chatterley's Brothercalled “an exciting new project” by Chad Post of Open Letter and Three Percent. Why can't Nicholson Baker write about sex? And why can Javier Marias? We investigate why porn is a dead end, and why seduction paves the way for the sex writing of the future. Read an excerpt.

Available now from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and direct from this site:


Translate This Book!

Ever wonder what English is missing? Called "a fascinating Life Perecread" by The New Yorker, Translate This Book! brings together over 40 of the top translators, publishers, and authors to tell us what books need to be published in English. Get it on Kindle.

For low prices on Las Vegas shows visit LasVegas.ShowTickets.com

You Say

Group Reads

The Tunnel

Fall Read: The Tunnel by William H. Gass

A group read of the book that either "engenders awe and despair" or "[goads] the reader with obscenity and bigotry," or both. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Naked Singularity

Summer Read: A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

Fans of Gaddis, Pynchon, DeLillo: A group read of the book that went from Xlibris to the University of Chicago Press. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Life Perec

Life A User's Manual by Georges Perec

Starting March 2011, read the greatest novel from an experimental master. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Last Samurai

Fall Read: The Last Samurai by Helen DeWitt

A group read of one of the '00s most-lauded postmodern novels. Info here. Buy the book here and support this site.

Tale of Genji

The Summer of Genji

Two great online lit magazines team up to read a mammoth court drama, the world's first novel.

Your Face Tomorrow

Your Face This Spring

A 3-month read of Javier Marias' mammoth book Your Face Tomorrow

Shop though these links = Support this site


Ten Memorable Quotes from William Gaddis’ Letters

New Books
Here are ten of my favorite moments from these hugely interesting letters.


Interviews from Conversational Reading

New Books
See this page for interviews with leading authors, translators, publishers, and more.


  • A Legacy by Sybille Bedford March 15, 2015
    Sybille Bedford had the benefit—or bad fortune, however you see it—of being born into the German aristocracy in 1911. Her father was a retired lieutenant colonel and art collector from the agrarian south, from a Roman Catholic family in fiscal decline. Her mother came from a wealthy German-Jewish family from Hamburg. A widower from his first marriage, Bedfor […]
  • Reviving Antal Szerb March 15, 2015
    Antal Szerb’s lithe, lively, and wholly endearing fiction is peopled by male dreamers on spiritual journeys of self-discovery. Each one sets out on his respective mini-mission with good intentions but knows from the outset that there are only so many harsh truths he can withstand. In this respect, all Szerb’s protagonists seem to have heeded the advice of Gr […]
  • 39 Africans Walk into a Bar March 15, 2015
    New anthologies of African fiction seem to materialize virtually every year, if not more often in recent years. When presented with the physical fact of yet another new anthology of African fiction, the immediate question, one which I was asked when I pressed the warm, bound pages of the Africa39 anthology into the even warmer hands of a new acquaintance, wa […]
  • The Country Road by Regina Ullmann March 15, 2015
    This collection of short stories, her first to appear in English, counters material poverty with a fulfilling and deeply spiritual relationship with the natural world. Ullmann herself was no stranger to hardship. A depressive, she was plagued by personal and professional crises. Financial constraints forced her to send her illegitimate children to the countr […]
  • The Fall of Language in the Age of English by Minae Mizumura March 14, 2015
    The Fall of Language in the Age of English stirred up debate upon its publication in Japan in 2008, and it’s possible it will do so in the U.S. with its arrival in Mari Yoshihara and Juliet Winters Carpenter's translation. In their introduction, Yoshihara and Winters Carpenter, point out that Japanese reviewers accused Mizumura of being a jingoist, an e […]
  • Another View: Tracing the Foreign in Literary Translation by Eduard Stoklosinski March 14, 2015
    Another View demonstrates exciting potential in translation study and praxis. It is especially significant in deconstructing assumptions about fluency and linguistic identity. The author makes some persuasive arguments for considering and even preferring non-native translation of texts, the most controversial of which is the possibility that linguistic compe […]
  • The Latest Five from Dalkey Archive’s “Library of Korea” Series March 14, 2015
    Despite South Korea having the kind of vibrant literary scene you'd expect from a country with one of the highest literacy rates in the world, we're still not exactly inundated with English translations of South Korean fiction. Given this dearth, Dalkey Archive Press's Library of Korean Literature series, twenty five titles published in collab […]
  • B & Me: A True Story of Literary Arousal by J.C. Hallman March 14, 2015
    here’s a conspicuous history of books that simply should not work: Books like U & I by Nicholson Baker, a book-length exercise in “memory criticism,” where Baker traces Updike’s influence on his own writing life while studiously not actually re-reading any of Updike’s books. Or books like Out of Sheer Rage, Geoff Dyer’s book that procrastinates away from […]
  • The Valerie Miles Interview March 14, 2015
    The idea was to uncover the secret life of these texts, why do their creators consider them their best work? What’s the clandestine, the underground, the surreptitious meaning or attachment? Where’s the kernel, the seed from which a body of work grew, what the driving obsession? Is it something sentimental, something technical, maybe even something spiritual […]
  • On Being Blue by William H. Gass March 14, 2015
    Look up at the sky, or down into the ocean, and what color do you see? We see blue, but not Homer—he never once employs the term throughout The Iliad and The Odyssey, famously calling the sea "wine-dark" and the heavens "bronze." Neither did the Greek philosopher Xenophanes say blue—he described the rainbow as having only three colors. Th […]

Which Barth Should I Read?

As I discussed in my reading resolutions for 2009, after reading lots and lots of world literature for the past couple of years, one of my goals for 2009 is to focus a little more closely on the classic American authors.

To that end, I’m starting in on Philip Roth’s Sabbath’s Theater, and over the weekend I picked up copies of The Public Burning (Robert Coover), Three Lives (Gertrude Stein), and an omnibus edition of Flannery O’Connor’s stories.

I’d also like to take on a work by John Barth, but I don’t know which one. I’ve read his short story collection Lost in the Funhouse, so now I’m looking for the definitive John Barth novel. I’m guessing that will either be The Sot-Weed Factor or Giles Goat Boy.

Am I on the right track here? Which is better to start with?

More from Conversational Reading:

  1. Lost in the Funhouse It was while reading DFW’s long story (novella, really) "Westward Goes the Course of Empire" (from Girl with Curious Hair) that I first heard...
  2. Anchor Book of Short Stories I’ve been hearing lots of good things about the new Anchor Book of New American Short Stories. One of the highest compliments I’ve heard thus...
  3. Don’t Read James Dellingpole makes one of the lazier cases I’ve seen for not reading canonical books Mainly though, you’re excused by the fact that there’s no...
  4. The Quarterly Conversation–Don’t Miss Out! After the first week of Issue 12, it’s clear that no one needs help locating our Macedonio Fernandez essay. That’s wonderful, since it’s a great...
  5. Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman I agree with M.A. Orthofer: The quirky invention, the sympathetic narrators (most of the stories are told in the first person, though it is not...

Related posts brought to you by Yet Another Related Posts Plugin.

12 comments to Which Barth Should I Read?

  • Matt

    Everyone will probably say Sot Weed but it is an incredibly annoying book. I say Giles or Chimera.

  • For Barth, you’d do much better to start with either The Floating Opera or The End of the Road. I think Gertrude Stein is much more important then Roth or Coover, though maybe that’s just me; she tends to be weirdly ignored, having been written off as either difficult or frivolous, neither of which is entirely true. There are a couple of lovely William Gass essays about Three Lives and “Melanctha” in particular that are worth reading.

  • The best Barth would be “Chimera”. It’s not a novel though, but I really would suggest you read this one first. “Sot-weed…” is not annoying, it’s a marvelous book, superbly written and incredibly funny but I actually enjoyed “Giles” even more.
    “Floating Opera” is great but it is pre-Barth, in a way. I found “The end of the road” terrible.

  • You should really do his first three books in a row–Floating and Road and Sot-Weed. The first two won’t take any time at all while the final will. The first two really tee up what he accomplishes in the third book in a development-of-the-artist way. Fascinating to see it that way, I think.
    That said, I’m hoping to tackle Giles this year.

  • Between those two, The Sot-Weed Factor first, then Giles Goat Boy — although both are terrific books. I think The Sot-Weed Factor is slightly more “approachable,” and of course it came before Giles Goat Boy, so by reading them in that order, you would get to see Barth developing.
    As I recall, The Sot-Weed Factor exists in two versions — the revision represents a slight tightening on Barth’s part. That was the version that I read, but if I re-read the novel (possible, although my queue is endless), I’ll track down the original.

  • hal

    try Tidewater Tales…..a very good book

  • Read the first ten pages of each and then keep going in whichever you like better.

  • I have all Barth’s books from the first through the mid-90s and Sot Weed is the only one I didn’t finish. God, it is annoying.
    I’d second recommendations of Chimera and Giles Goat-Boy.
    Floating Opera is good but very different. Less playful, more existential-ish.
    I loved LETTERS, but that really requires reading most of his previous novels.

  • Since there’s been a big “annoying” vote against Sot-Weed, I’m going to have to say that, for me, Giles Goat-Boy outlived its welcome well before the end.
    Really, they’re both enormous novels, and the jokes can wear thin. It either bothers you or it doesn’t.

  • Stan Scott

    I read a lot of Barth with pleasure when I was in my twenties, and I have to go with the general consensus — The Sot-Weed Factor is a very funny novel. Giles wears out his welcome well before the end of the novel.

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>